Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Home » News » Director Cameron Jackson named member of the National Theatre Conference

Director Cameron Jackson named member of the National Theatre Conference

Published January 26, 2012

The School of Theatreat Florida State’s Executive Director Cameron Jackson has been named the newest member of the National Theatre Conference, a cooperative association of distinguished leaders of American Theatre. “Membership into the conference is by invitation only and is not something to which one can apply,” says MFA Theatre Management program head Susan Thomas. “This is a very distinguished group of theatre professionals.” According to the National Theatre Conference’s website, the NCT operates “as a theatrical ‘think tank’ and meets annually toreview and confer on matters pertaining to the welfare and development of the theatre” as well as to honor awards and scholarships for outstanding achievement in theatre.

“To be thought of in this company is humbling,” says Jackson. “It is an honor to be invited and inducted into this group of theatre practitioners.” The National Theatre conference boasts members from all over the country, representing professional and academic institutions, including Columbia University, New York University, Yale School of Drama, the American Shakespeare Center, the Acting Company, Lyric Opera of Chicago, and Stanford University. Conference members represent a variety of theatre practitioners such as playwrights, designers, producers, actors, and educators. Florida State University’s connection to the National Theatre Conference is long standing, and includes members Barbara Redmond of the FSU/Asolo Conservatory, FSU alum Steven Rothman, and founder of the School of Theatre Richard Fallon.