Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Home » News » Fall 2015 Design Charrette Winners Announced!

Fall 2015 Design Charrette Winners Announced!

Published December 2, 2015

The Department of Interior Architecture + Design in the College of Fine Arts at Florida State University completed their 3rd annual student design charrette October 21 – 26 in collaboration with the College of Music.

The students’ design work is of a high caliber, especially considering the short duration of the design effort. Interior Design faculty judged the student work with particular attention paid to the functional, aesthetic, and acoustical conceptual design of the performance space, lobby, gallery, support spaces, and luthier’s studio. The winners have been determined as follows:

1st place: Rebecca Thompson, Sarah Wallstedt, Alexandra Barkow, Arely Cavazos

2nd place (tie): Reid Johnson, Mackenzie Lyon, Sheridan Markham
2nd place (tie): Kara Shrout, Katherine Piercy, Emily Haynes, Alyssa Queen

3rd place (tie): Kara Buono, Alana Elwell, Shanece Burton, Amber Murray
3rd place (tie): Lauren Wilson, Katherine Long, Caitlin La Tour, Ian Novak
3rd place (tie): Emily Swerdloff, Zoe Gaik, Katherine Kennedy, Payton Scott

Honorable Mention: Marissa Lambert, Mindy Schwartz, Audrey Golden, Lindsey Slater
Honorable Mention: Cameron Robb, Katelyn Varhalla, Michelle Schneiter, Mary Hritz

The student work is currently on display in the William Johnston Building on the 1000 level near the café and gallery and will be up through early December. Please stop by to view the work. The charrette was led by Interior Design faculty Steven Webber and Jim Dawkins, with special support by Dr. Douglass Seaton of the College of Music.