Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Home » News » School of Dance Alumna Nominated for Bessie Award

School of Dance Alumna Nominated for Bessie Award

Published September 22, 2014

FSU alumna Maggie CloudFlorida State University’s School of Dance Alumna Maggie Cloud (BFA 2010) has been nominated for a Bessie Award in the category of Outstanding Performer for her exceptional work in Passagen by Pam Tanowitz, presented in New York City. In addition, Cloud recently performed in John Jasperse’s work, Within Between, which is up for nomination in the Outstanding Production category.

Originally from Sarasota, Florida, Maggie Cloud moved to New York in the fall of 2009 to participate in the School of Dance’s FSU in NYC program. FSU in NYC allows BFA and MFA students to spend a semester immersed in New York City’s dance and performance culture immediately before graduation. Students attend classes, see performances and even intern for a dance or performance organization. For Maggie Cloud, as with many FSU School of Dance students, the program helps contribute to a successful transition from dance student to dance professional. Since moving to New York, Cloud has performed in works by choreographers Lauren Bakst, Kim Brandt, Diana Crum, Moriah Evans, Burr Johnson, Jen McGinn, Sarah Michelson, Gillian Walsh, and Emily Wexler.

This year’s Annual Bessie Awards, produced in partnership by Dance/NYC and the NY Dance and Performance Awards, will take place on Monday, October 20, 2014 at 7:30 p.m. at the legendary Apollo Theater in New York City. “The Bessies” have saluted outstanding and groundbreaking creative work by independent dance artists in NYC for 30 years. Known as “The Bessie” in honor of revered dance teacher Bessie Schoenberg, the awards were established in 1983 by David White at Dance Theater Workshop. A 40-member Selection Committee comprised of artists, presenters, producers, and writers choose nominees.

Maggie Cloud’s nomination adds her to an illustrious list of School of Dance faculty and alumni who have been recognized by “The Bessies” for their contributions to the dance field:

  • Darrell Jones (MFA 1995) – 2013 Bessie Award Winner for Choreography
  • Third Rail Projects, led by Jennine Willet (MFA 1996, FSU in NYC Faculty), Tom Pearson (BFA, 1998, FSU in NYC Faculty), and Zach Morris (FSU in NYC Faculty) – 2013 Bessie Award Nomination for Best Production
  • Jawole Zollar (MFA 1979, FSU School of Dance Faculty) – 1992 Bessie Award Winner for Collective Work in Urban Bush Women and 2006 Bessie Award Winner for Choreography
  • Carla Peterson (Maggie Allesee National Center for Choreography Director) – 2005 Bessie Award Winner for Leadership of Movement Research and Dedication to the Dance Community