Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Home » News » Alumna Laurie Hoppock Recognized by Florida Art Education Association

Alumna Laurie Hoppock Recognized by Florida Art Education Association

Published October 25, 2023

The Florida State University Department of Art Education was once again well represented at the 2023 Florida Art Education Association Conference in Ponte Vedra Beach in October. Faculty, alumni and students gave presentations and participated in workshops centered around the theme “Art Colors Our World.”

Art Therapy alumna Dr. Laurie Hoppock (MS ’10) won the Supervisor/Administrator of the Year Award for her work in Duval County Public Schools. This award recognized individuals who contribute to the field through teaching, leadership, research, community and FAEA involvement, and development of an outstanding program.

Congratulations to our FSU participants on a successful week! Representatives from FSU included:


  • Jeff Broome, Associate Professor and Director of Doctoral Program
  • Rachel Fendler, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Director of Teacher Certification
  • Amber Ward, Ph.D., Assistant Professor and Director of Online Programming

Dr. Laurie Hoppock (right) accepts her FAEA award.


  • Maria Anselmo (BA Studio Art ’22, MS ’23)
  • Debi Barrett-Hayes
  • Jessica Barthle (BA Theatre ’17, MS ’18)
  • Caiti Bauer (BA Studio Art ’17, MS ’17)
  • Bonnie Bernau (BS Education ’73, MS ’93)
  • Susannah Brown, Ph.D., (MS ’95, Ph.D. ’01)
  • Tracy Canada (BS ’94)
  • Nicole Crane, Ph.D. (MS ’99, Ph.D. ’06)
  • Samantha Fast (BA Art History ’23)
  • Latonya Hicks (BFA Studio Art ’01)
  • Laurie Hoppock, Ph.D. (MS ’10)
  • Katharyn Jones (BS Psychology ’07, MS ’10)
  • Patricia Lamb (BS ’76, MS ’78)
  • Brie Medina (MS ’20)
  • Dr. Marilyn Proctor-Givens (BFA Studio Art ’86, BS ’86, MS ’88, Ph.D. ’01)
  • Will Rowe (BFA Studio Art ’22, MS ’23)

Current Students:

  • Hsin Fang, Ph.D. student
  • Joanna Godfrey, Bachelor’s student
  • Sena Karatas Ozturk, Ph.D. student
  • Savannah Keys, Bachelor’s student
  • Ko-Hui Lin, Master’s student
  • Hsuan Chi Liu, Ph.D. student
  • Allison Prater, Master’s student
  • Kathleen Tracey, Master’s student